Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thunderbird-Missing e-mail

Posted by bugsybanks (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 9, 12 at 22:48

I recently installed Thunderbird as my e-mail program. When I opened the program this morning, all the messages that were in my Inbox are gone. I have checked all the folders...nothing.

I've tried to read through some of the support suggestions, including drilling down to the folder where the e-mails are stored for Thunderbird. I can see that there is a file marked Inbox that has 2529 KB, so I'm assuming the missing messages are there. I don't know how to open the file or how to restore the messages. And why would the program keep removing the messages from my inbox? I've checked my settings and have removed the check mark from the option to archive in case that was the problem. I'm just learning the program so I'm not sure what to check next.

Could someone please help? I probably haven't explained this very well, so please let me know how I can provide more information.

Thank you for any help.

Bugsy

Internet Explorer 9
Windows 7

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thunderbird-Missing e-mail

I would first ask...where did you download it from? If you got Thunderbird from any site other than the one I have listed below, it's possible that you also got something you didn't bargain for. Some third-party sites are trustworthy, others are not. If you did not get TB directly from Mozilla, I would get rid of what you have and start over with a fresh install. I've had TB for several years. I've never changed any of the default settings and I've never experienced the problem you describe.

Here is a link that might be useful: Thunderbird

o

Whew! You scared me there. The web site in your link is the one I used, thankfully. I'm pretty cautious about that kind of thing.