Return to the Computer Help Forum
| Post a Follow-Up
A caution flag
| | |
Posted by lotodig (My Page) on Sun, Nov 8, 09 at 12:54
| I saw this morning a commercial advertising a gadget for printers that is supposed to be an endless supply of ink. The picture showed a base with tubes running from it to the printer.........looked interesting, so I googled the name they had given....123Ink....and the google list that came up ALL had a RED circle from the WOT program that I use. So I did not take the chance and open the web site. Am I being paranoid?
Is this unusual? Wonder why the red warning. |
Follow-Up Postings:
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| I opened that site using Firefox (with Linux) and did not get any indication of anything malicious...but that is certainly no guarantee that the site is safe. I wonder about the usefulness of WOT, since it appears to be an aggregate rating given by users who choose to rate the site. It is not just a rating of the site's safety, but also whether or not the merchant is reliable, whether or not the site is child-safe, whether or not the site generates unwanted spam. It would seem that even a bad site could be rated good if enough users chose to falsely rate it so. If I'm wrong about any of this, I hope someone will correct me. |
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| I'm with azinoh on the potentially limited usefulness of WOT, since good or bad sites could simply be unrated. I don't intend to limit my browsing to only sites that WOT says are good...but I do intend keep my anti-virus and anti-malware software up and running, and to exercise due diligence when I encounter any site that doesn't pass my built-in scepticism. If there is a site or product I want to know more about, I Google either the name or the product and add "+problem" or "+scam" to the search box. I also have resorted to using the WhoIs service to check a site's web registration and how long they have been operating and where they are located. If I see a site offering me great software prices that was set up in Moldavia 3 weeks ago, or where the contact info is masked by a registration service that makes the registrant anonymous, that tells me a lot. |
Here is a link that might be useful: WHOIS
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| That certainly is good information to know. Thanks....We learn as we go... |
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| you can go to your wot page and do a search there at wot for that address and once there it will give you all the ratings info for that site and the various comments from users. I definitely use and recommend WOT, the security community is very active in helping to notify of bad sites by using the WOT ratings system. There are various reasons a site can get a RED rating, I tried to take a look at my WOT to see what it said for that site but since you did not give the full url I found nothing, I tried every version they showed for 123ink but each said no ratings. I tried googling just for 123ink and did not get any red wots. |
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| Raven, I'm on IE right now and after the google search the actual site came up 123inks.com. [with an s] I did as you suggested and went to the WOT home page and typed that in and got the same results. Red caution. It is basically as a result of reading your comments and answers here that I have WOT, I pay close attention to what you say and what you use and reccomend. Another reason I was cautious. So thanks, you probably saved me a big headache. |
RE: A caution flag
| | |
| ah ok thanks for the full url, unfortunately when people do ratings they do not always leave a comment, I urge people to not only do the rating but leave a comment so people know what caused that rating. I only see the ratings for that site no comments. But it looks like privacy may have been one of the main reasons for the Red. They may be bad at spamming. |
|
|
|
|