Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Computer gurus - I need thumb drive help please

Posted by gma_j (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 18, 13 at 16:58

My daughter gave me a thumb drive that has pictures of a camping trip. I plugged it in to my computer's USB port and nothing happens. (I have never used a thumb drive before but assumed it would load like a CD or DVD). Any instructions you would be able to give me to get these pictures to load and save to my computer would be so much appreciated. I have gone to Start/Computer/ and it is not listed in my removable storage. I have also unplugged my computer overnight to try that with no luck. It is not the thumb drive itself as it works in my digital photo frame. Thank you.
If it matters, I have Windows 7.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Computer gurus - I need thumb drive help please

Try a different USB outlet.

It should show up in Computer or MyComputer or ThisPC as a Drive letter. Then you can double click and drag n drop or copy & paste the pictures you want. Or open the pictures directly with a double click.

The usb memory stick should be the next available drive letter ... so if you have C, D, E-DVD, it would be F drive ... Which you could open from the run line or search F:\

o

Hi mikie, thank you for responding. I have tried different USB outlets with no luck (these outlet work with other things).
I have C, D, E-DVD. Then I have K, which is VZAccess Manager (Verizon). For some reason when I plug in the stick it does not show up.
Any other ideas? Thanks

o

Hi gma i

See link for additional help.

Joe

Here is a link that might be useful: missing-usb-drive-in-windows-7

o

Have you tried an alternate drive to make sure the system is reading thumb drives?

A few shots in the dark:

Reboot in Safe Mode, install the drive and attempt to locate.

Attempt to locate the drive using Windows Explorer.