Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
screen went dim

Posted by naturelle (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 8:31

I never had this problem before. I bought a used 27" iMac to replace an older model. Everything was good for a week or two, then one morning when I turned on the computer from sleep mode, the screen was noticeably dimmer than it was before. I did not do anything that I know to have caused that.

I cannot access Apple help, as they are closed for maintenance, or something, so would appreciate help here.

I'm sure it's a simple fix, but having fiddled, I have not been able to figure it out.

I'm on Mountain Lion.

This post was edited by naturelle on Mon, Aug 26, 13 at 8:34

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: screen went dim

Take a looksee here. I have no experience with Apple stuff so I had to goggle it :~)

You might need to look through a few to find the right answer for your problem.

o

Thank you so much. Actually, I did not have to look at much. One of the links was concerning a dimming problem, but it was a more serious problem than mine, as they tried everything, without success. However, in the discussions, they referenced the dimming and brightening keys on the keyboard. I had no idea of their existence. Sure enough, I found them and that was the problem. I must have hit them, when I was fumbling for another key.

The keyboard is a wireless, which came with the purchase of the iMac, and it's about 1/2 the size. Very nice for a hunt and peck typist like me, much easier to use, as my peripheral vision sees the whole panel. Also, I can use it off my lap while I lean back on my reclining chair.

Thanks again, I now see the light!!

o

Glad to read it was a simple fix. Another happy camper :~)

o

naturelle-