Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bag of Tricks

Posted by mike_kaiser (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 18, 14 at 21:04

Years ago, when memory was measured in megabytes, floppy disks were actually floppy, and cell phones were just for talking I worked as a PC technician. Fast forward a couple of decades and I don't know as much as I used to. I still help friends and family out from time to time. Tonight I got such a call and my initial thought was that the hard drive had failed. In years past I had MS-DOS on a floppy and could run SCANDISK or get to a command line.

It dawned on me, embarrassingly, that I don't have anything to do with.

Any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bag of Tricks

Try replacing hard drive with known good hard drive and see if that solves the problem ... (I keep spare hard drives lying about that I've outgrown ... I keep them empty unless I'm actually using them, so when I put them into the non-working system, I have nothing on the drive to cause any kind of problems) ...

I also have bootable CDs that run Windows XP, Windows 7, and Linux Redhat ... plus a thumb drive (8 GB) with a good utility suite for fixing problems. You may want to think about doing something similar if you want to keep helping out your friends and family.

Programs I regularly keep and use:

Avira Anti-Virus - antivirus
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - anti-malware
Spybot Search and Destroy - anti-spyware
Ad-Aware - anti-adware
CCleaner - registry cleaner, uninstaller
Defraggler - defragmenter
CCCP (Combined Community Codec Pack) - codec and media player
various video files in multiple formats to confirm that the system is capable of playing video and sound files properly...

It all fits on a single 700MB CD-R ... I generally charge 1 dollar for a disc, or give one free to anybody I helped out. I charge them 20 dollars per hour + parts or 20 dollars flat fee + cost of parts for family and friends/co-workers.

o