Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
' Microsoft ' tech spoof calls

Posted by steve_fl (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 27, 12 at 19:25

Just recieved a call from "Microsoft tech support" telling me my computer is sending "much bad signals" to microsoft - I must have virus"

Of course, the caller has a thick accent-hardly understandable-
When I ask where he is calling from, he says "Microsoft".
He wanted me to hit Window key and "R" key and type in something-to clear my computer of viruses.
Well, I'm no dummy-

I played along for a bit-then told him I was an IT professional-
He asked what that was !!

I then told him in no uncertain terms where he could go-

Watch your phone for this number-253-820-3089

Read all about this scam-
http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-253-820-3089

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ' Microsoft ' tech spoof calls

I've had those calls too. The first time he called I had just had my computer serviced and he removed a couple of viruses. I told him that's funny my computer tech just did a virus removal. The idiot told me that this was a virus that my computer tech couldn't detect. I told him to take a slow walk off a short pier and he couldn't understand what I meant so I said kiss my a$$ and hung up.

That didn't stop them though I've recieved more calls since then. As soon as I hear virus I repeat spam a few times and hang up.

They want to get into your computer and steal your info--the crooks

o

I would let them ramble on then tell them it was very interesting since I am running Linux, not any Microsoft products involved. But as ignorant as they are they would likely not even know what that is.

I know this is happening a lot, hearing it on various forums.
Just hang up and block the number is the best.

o