Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help please: Sudden low signal wifi issue

Posted by marita40 (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 2, 12 at 6:47

I have a Linksys router and am running Windows Vista on an HP laptop--it is about 4 years old. My second floor 1500 ft condo unit always had great wifi in every room, but suddenly the signal is very weak or even absent for a few minutes at a time. Nothing has changed with the router position, etc. What's strange is that I have very strong wifi bars for my upper and lower condo neighbors as well as my next door neighbors--it is only me that has the weak signal! Again, this came on suddenly a few day's ago. Is this a Comcast problem, a router problem, a computer problem? Any solutions? Thanks so much--and be gentle as I am a novice at these issues.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
Solved! (maybe)

After posting the above, I unplugged the router and modem and let them sit 10 minutes, then replugged. This seems to have done the job--the signal is now strong. Thanks to me for talking myself through the issue :)!

o
RE: Help please: Sudden low signal wifi issue

Well done! It's always the first choice to do that. Had that not worked the next thing is to uninstall the Wireless network adapter as shown in device manager and reboot, that exercise will reinstall the wireless adapter.

o

Yes, rebooting the router occasionally will help to maintain the strength of your wireless signal. But what about the security of your wireless router? How do you know that someone else isn't also using your wireless signal without your knowledge? Hopefully, you are using WPA2 encryption instead of WEP on your Linksys router. If you're not sure, check back here. Folks here can walk you through the process.

o