Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Computer dvr

Posted by cavell (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 24, 13 at 13:10

I know you cannot download any Hbo movie onto ur computer. Copyright stuff. But if u have a cable co dvr/ tuner u can save movies on ur dvr forever? So if I want to put a copy of a movie on my computer I cannot legally do that? Cable co says thats so I don't get crazy and try and burn a DVD of movie. I do not have a cable co dvr though. So maybe u can't save Hbo movies on the dvr?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Computer dvr

Let's see if I get this right. You want guidance in how to infringe on a copypright. Hmmm! Sorry no help from me.

DA

o

I'm not an expert but I believe it's perfectly legal to record a broadcast show for your personal, non-commercial use. You can record, say, The Wizard of Oz, and watch it to your heart's content and invite your friends over to watch until the cows come home. One runs afoul of the law when you charge your friends to watch it or make copies and distribute them (free or not).

Back in the magnetic media days, a copy required one to play the original and each play resulted in a slight degradation in the quality of the "master" and the nature of the medium resulted in a copy that was slightly lower in quality than the master. The problem with digital recordings is that it makes it too easy an unscrupulous person to make an infinite number of 100% accurate copies.

That's not to say there aren't ways to around the protection schemes. Certainly people rip (I think that's the right word) DVDs to hard drives for their home entertainment systems. Someone has probably figured out how to get data off of the drives of cable/teleco/satellite DVR's but doing so probably violates the service agreement making one liable for the cost of the DVR and a suspension of service.

o