Return to the Computer Help Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Windows sharing help

Posted by chas045 (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 27, 14 at 13:00

I have not really paid much attention to network settings and I don't know the correct terms to help search for the exact help I need in Google etc. I actually do have a network running with moderate success, but it needs improvement and better control. I assume part of my ignorance is because I am not experienced with Win 7 or 8 although I have both operating systems now. I was under the impression that both new systems were supposed to help make network settings more transparent.

My current project that created my network interest, is to rip some of our CDs to my newest laptop, and among other things, see if I could network them to our TV and probably to our stereo system (TV and stereo are directly cabled). I suppose I could rip the CDs to my old desktop Dell Vostro, Win 7, 150 gig drive with 72 gig free. However, I have this new HP ENVY with some incomprehensible to me Intel Core i7 4700 2.4 GHz processor; with 12 GB memory (+4Gig more for something) and 909 GB hard drive. I assume it is way faster and should be used in preference to the old Vostro.