Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haliwa01_gw

Getting cigarette smell out of car

haliwa01
18 years ago

I am a newbie here and found this site by accident and I need your help.

I am a reformed smoker and my car smells like cigaretts and I was wondering how can I get the cigarette smell out of my car? A friend of mine was telling me about some product you can get that will help get the cigarette smell out of your car.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Comments (23)

• socks
    18 years ago

I wonder if they were thinking about Febreeze, available at supermarkets. I've never used it. I think the real problem is that the odor and cigarette chemicals penetrate any upholstered places, like the headliner. Good luck. Glad to hear you managed to quit smoking. I know it is a rough experience.

I think I'd wipe down any vinyl surfaces, maybe have the carpets cleaned.

Good luck.

• lizql
    18 years ago

You will need to have the entire car cleaned. Fabreeze will only cover the smell for a short time.

• bluesbarby
    18 years ago

I can't remember what it's called but there's a product that you can purchase at an auto parts store that dealerships use to get rid of smells.

• toomuchstuph
    18 years ago

My mom used to use an ozone spray of some kind. Can't remember the name but it came in a very small orange and white aerosol can. I tried to google it but nothing came up. I think it was what bluesbarby is talking about.

• peachieone
    18 years ago

You can put a few "Bounce" or other fabric softening sheets under the front seats. I don't think it works permanently but it helps a lot in the short term.

• annnorthtexas
    18 years ago

I'd recommend getting an interior detail. I got one of these the last time that I went to the carwash -- first time ever -- and it got rid of the smoke smell. Plus, the inside of the car is very, very clean. It was well worth the $30 and the 30 minutes.

• mandy_g
    18 years ago