Return to the Cleaning Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cleaning burnt Le Creuset DO

Posted by loves2cook4six (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 30, 07 at 10:56

Hi All,

I'm a regular over on the kitchen forum but this is my first time posting here.

We made meatballs in a tomato based sauce for dinner on Friday night. They are a fairly long simmer, over an hour, and when we were ready to eat and poured the meatballs into a serving dish we saw the entire bottom of the pan was BURNT on tomato sauce.

I have been working on the dutch oven since Friday. I've tried Baking soda, (paste overnight then adding vinegar and cooking for 10 minutes, allowing to cool and scraping - nada), fabric softner (overnight and TONS of elbow grease but not much to show for it.)

So a question... as a LAST resort can I put my Le creuset in the oven on the self clean cycle or will that ruin the pot forever? Any other suggestions to get it clean? I am going to try soaking in ammonia next.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cleaning burnt Le Creuset DO

Trying spraying it with a thick layer of Dawn Dissolver. This stuff always works for me!

o

Whenever I have anything that has burnt on to any of my pots or pans, I cover the burnt area with water and about a teaspoon to tablespoon of DISHWASHER detergent. Let it soak overnight and it will wash right out. It has worked every time. If you use powder, it might be beneficial to dissolve the powder first. I specifically have gel or liquid dishwasher detergent on hand just for this purpose since I use gel-pacs or tablets normally.

o

Do NOT put your Le Cruset pan into the oven during the cleaning cycle.
Cover the bottom with water, add a couple of tablespoons of Dishwasher detergent, as Ia sheff said.......bging it to a boil, cover and let sit for 24 hours.
Use a plastic scraper to remove the crud....and finish cleaning up with a Magic Sponge.
Linda C

o