Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poorowner_gw

Is T.S.P. nasty stuff?

PoorOwner
15 years ago

I have used the no rinse TSP substitute before, but doesn't seem to do too much. I am cleaning the sticky oil stains off the ceiling for painting.. I have heard of people using real TSP. How well do you have to rinse it.. is it safe for pets? I have 2 cats who needs to tour the "job site" as soon as I leave the area.

Comments (12)

• graywings123
    15 years ago

I am no expert on this, but my understanding is that the reason there was a move away from TSP was to reduce the amounts of phosphates in the ground and water supply. My thinking is that it is equally dangerous - but not worse - than any other cleaning product when it comes to the pets getting into it.

I don't know if you need to rinse it off. I would think that if you used a good primer after cleaning, it would seal in any TSP residue. But I repeat, not an expert. You may want to cross post on the Paint forum and see what the paint experts say.

• dilly_dally
    15 years ago

Yes, it was banned in many states not due to the danger to consumers using it but to our envionment.

It it put in food products so it can't be all that dangerous although it is best to eat natural whole foods whenever possible.

Here is a link that might be useful: TSP

• graywings123
    15 years ago

My goodness, I didn't know it was used in foods! Kind of scary!

• jannie
    15 years ago

TSP is the main ingredient in Spic and Span powder. I ceretainly don't want to eat that !

• sheilajoyce_gw
    15 years ago

Will your cats be walking or resting on the ceiling?????

• eteinne
    15 years ago

Hi,