Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lipply

Air Duct Cleaning?

lipply
11 years ago

We are buying a 100 year old home and will probably be replacing the a/c / gas heater before winter. Wondering if we should get the air ducts cleaned? I have no experience with this type of service but I would guess that it has never been done.

Comments (13)

• krissie55
    11 years ago

Do you know how long the house has had a/c and heat? Most likely those were not installed until around the 1950's or later.

Since the air is filtered before going into the ducts, how much dirt do you think might have slipped thru and is resting in the ducts?

If you use a duct cleaning service, be sure they are good. Some make cleaning ducts a laughing joke.

My concern would be whether any of the duct connections have come loose, are still wrapped and whether they possibly are leaking air into the attic. A good check of the attic would be wise.

My suggestion would be to wipe as far as you can reach inside a ceiling duct with a clean cloth to see how much dirt you find.

• lipply
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks for the response.

• emma
    11 years ago

I have heard that it is a waste of money, hardly anything in there. I would ask experts like a company that makes or installs duct work.

• krissie55
    11 years ago

Another question. Is the ceiling dirty a few inches out around the a/c vents? If so, then the ducts may be dirty which would indicate the possibility of something being loose in the attic and sucking dirt into the system.

If the ceiling is not dirty around the vents, most likely you will find nothing in the vents.

• lipply
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The vents are close to the floor and no I don't see anything.

• cearbhaill (zone 6b Eastern Kentucky)
    11 years ago

I had it done when we took possession of our current home and would recommend it. It completely refreshed the interior of the home.