Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haname

Cleaning Washing Machine (Natural Style?)

Haname
12 years ago

I have a front loader which gets a musty odor, pretty common in these front loaders. Today I picked up the Tide product designed to clean and freshen washing machines, and it's running through a cycle right now. It will probably do a decent job, but I would really prefer to use something that is more natural. It is recommended to use it every month. I already use borax in the wash and vinegar in the rinse cycle, and have tried dosing the machine with larger amounts of vinegar to no avail. Bleach was not effective and I don't want to use bleach anyway.

Has anyone tried a home remedy that works?

Comments (10)

• jannie
    12 years ago

Once this cleaning is done, every time you do a load, leave the door open afterwards. It will allow your washer to dry out and not develop any molds,odors,fungi, etc. I've been doing this with my machine since I bought it in 2001.

.mod

• livebetter
    12 years ago

I clean mine with citric acid based products (not full of chemicals or perfumey smells).

Some brands; Smelly Washer, LemiShine.

I occasionally run a "tub clean" cycle with some chlorine bleach to kill any bacteria.

Other things that help keep tubs clean; vinegar, oxygen bleach, borax.

You really need the citric cleaners to remove any build up in the drum. Build up is a great place for mold to form.

I think the Tide cleaner smells terrible - why do we need all that perfume on our washing machine?

• jannie
    12 years ago

I was in my local laundromat and saw the attendant running an empty wash (no laundry-only water) with a good dose of clear vinegar. She had a one gallon bottle and dumped in about a third. I guess that's how the "pros" clean!

• Haname
    Original Author
    12 years ago

livebetter, how much of the lemi-shine do you use, and what procedure?

• livebetter
    12 years ago