Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mzmint

shower glass

mzmint
19 years ago

We have just moved into a new home with lots and lots of glass in the shower..Florida water can be hard on the glass for streaking and deposits..

Does anyone use or know of a 'glass wax??type cleaner/coating to pre-empt the problem before we use it? So far everyone is linited to one shower stall until I get some clues? Thanks Pat

Comments (12)

• gerrysrose
    19 years ago

I clean houses for a living and I use Rain-X on the glass doors,windows and mirrors. Most of the people that I work for have well water and a couple are heavy smokers and it is amazing how this stuff repels the smoke build up along with the water build up and it keeps your mirrors from fogging up in the bathroom after a hot shower. I get it from Autozone and also Wal-Mart. Good Luck!

• mzmint
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you I will give it a try. I hate to have them ruined right from the get-go!

• fatlester
    19 years ago

re the Rain-X. I picked up Rain-X wipes at Target. They are designed for inside car windows but shower door guy said they would be fine for shower. They clean great! Got off all the soap scum and no spray or drippy liquids. We used them for mirrors as well.

You need to use gloves with them.

• jamielovescoffee__az
    19 years ago

I used to use those sprays that you use after every shower, but they were expensive and toxic. Now I mix 3TBS jet dry in a spray bottle and fill with water. If you use this a couple times a week you will not get the hard water and soap scum build up. Much cheaper and easier on the old lungs.

• weed30 St. Louis
    19 years ago

I use Bounce fabric softener sheets to get the soap scum off of the glass doors - I don't know how it works, but it works! Get the sheet wet first.

• Lynne_SJO
    19 years ago