Return to the Cleaning Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which steam cleaner?

Posted by paulasims (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 22, 08 at 15:19

Hi All,
I have been reading about the steam cleaners and like the idea of them but have a question as to which one. I tried the Shark and hated it because it didn't seem to be doing anything and was so hard to push.

On the Allergy Buyer's site (http://www.allergybuyersclubshopping.com/vapor-steam-cleaners.html) I see the LadyBug, Reliable, and WhiteWing but the price differences are amazing. Do I NEED to spend that much money? What is the TANC system on the LadyBug?

Thanks so much for your help.

Paula

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which steam cleaner?

First, let me say I am NOT an expert on this subject, so these are just my opinions formed from reading. Yes, there appear to be two levels of steam cleaners - the $100 and under range and the $300-500-$2,000 and up range.

Many people on this forum are very happy with their Shark Steam Mops. It would seem that there is either something wrong with your machine or your technique in using the Shark. My guess would be the machine. These are inexpensive products mass produced in China, and some percentage of them are defective. Send it back and get a replacement.

I have one of the higher end steam cleaners. The difference seems to come down to the temperature of the water, the size of the water tank, and the amount of steam vapor the machine puts out. For example, the Shark company doesn't give any information on the water temperature, while mine heats to 302 degrees in the tank. The cost of the higher end steamers seems to be in the heating element and the type of tank.

I had not heard of the TANC system on the LadyBug, but found a page on the web that describes it: