Return to the Cleaning Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cleaning grout in a limestone shower

Posted by petestein1 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 26, 11 at 11:28

All, I'm hoping someone here has a few product suggestions.

A few years ago we gut renovated our house and ended up with a lovely limestone bathroom. Because limestone can be a porous stone, and I've had some bad experience in the past, I've been hesitant to allow any kind of standard bathroom cleaners near the shower -- no scrubbing bubbles, no tilex, etc.

Well, 2 years later and I just noticed that some of the grout is turning a nasty black (I might've noticed earlier except I wear glasses and obviously don't wear them into the shower. Why my wife didn't saying anything I don't know.)

So... I'm looking for a way to clean the grout that won't harm the limestone. I could buy a few of the commercial products and test them in discreet areas but I'm hoping that someone here has gone through the process and can recommend one or another. Or an out-of-the-way product. Or even a basic "home remedy" like white vinegar.

So, any ideas?

Thanks so much!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cleaning grout in a limestone shower

Google limestone cleaning. There are many things you should not use on limestone.

I know you are interested in cleaning the grout, however, you need to know what to not use on the limestone.

I have no clue what Finish Power Ball dishwasher detergent would do to limestone, it does clean grout good by soaking/scrubbing with stiff grout brush. If very dirty, will need a repeat or another repeat.

I have cleaned several rooms of grout/porcelain tile with good results using the above. I do need to repeat the process again and again if necessary to get clean enough to put a sealer on the grout. All depends on how dirty the grout is.