Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newtoremodeling_gw

please recommend a safe automatic dishwasher product

newtoremodeling
15 years ago

Hi! This is my first time posting but I lurk and absorb a lot of info. I couldn't find anything about natural products for automatic dishwashers (to clean dishes). Those of you who clean green, can you please recommend something that is healthier, safer, greener? Thanks.

Comments (10)

• greenleafclean
    15 years ago

The best automatic dishwasher detergent I have found is Melaleuca's Diamond Brite. If you want to know more you can reach me at green_leaf_clean@yahoo.ca

• reeree_natural
    15 years ago

Seventh generation makes a natural automatic dishwasher detergent, (you can buy it in target) and so does shaklee.
    Ree

• newtoremodeling
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, I will look into these. Ree, your posts are very helpful. I am also going to be looking into Charlie's, Shaklee, etc. I bought the Shark Steam Mop and am VERY HAPPY with my purchase.

• ebear1271
    15 years ago

I've tried a couple of different kinds and have found that Seventh Generation works best for me. One thing I have noticed is that you need to pre-rinse dishes if you won't be washing right away. I think that because it doesn't have the same chemicals as regular detergent it doesn't "scrub" the dishes as well. However, when I go to my friends and they are running the dishwasher, I can smell bleach. Kind of scary how we get so used to that stuff that we don't even notice until it's been gone for a while.

• newtoremodeling
    Original Author
    15 years ago