Return to the Cleaning Tips Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Getting grease spot out of clothing

Posted by linnea56 (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 18, 11 at 14:14

I got a spot of vegetable oil on some new grey colored jeans. I treated it first by sponging with what was there (hand soap and a wash cloth). That didn�t work, though it spread it. The area rubbed is a bit lighter, though, so the dye must be unstable.

Then I soaked the spot with pure liquid laundry detergent, overnight, and washed it. Jeans label said wash in cold water. So I did, but that possibly is why it didn't come out all the way. I let it air dry (did not use dryer).

It's still there, though lighter.

Is there some better alternative to doing what I have been? Should I pre-treat with Dawn liquid dish detergent, since that is advertised as a grease cutter?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Getting grease spot out of clothing

I'm not an expert, but spot cleaning with Dawn might help. However, I believe that if that were the case, the hand soap would have removed the stain.

When I was having problems with makeup not coming out of collars, I contacted the company that makes Shout because it wasn't working. They directed me to Shout Advanced aerosol foam, which is formulated for greasy stains. It failed to get the makeup completely out, but it has worked well on other greasy stains. You may have to apply it to the entire garment to keep it a uniform color.

Here is a link that might be useful: Shout

o

I use the shout spray or some Greased lightning

o

I haven't had good luck with regular Shout. It's better than nothing, but not nearly enough even for my regular laundry.

I have not heard of Greased lightning. I just google searched it. Which product do you use for laundry?

o

I use to work at a tool manufacturing plant and always used Simple Green in the spray bottle to remove grease from my clothing. I never diluted it before spraying, used it full strength and washed in warm water.