Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taragirl_gw

how to use a canister vacuum?

taragirl
15 years ago

Hello! I've never used a canister vacuum before, and I'm considering getting one. I have hard floors and dog hair, and I think the wand of a canister vac would be light and easy to manipulate and reach under furniture to get dust bunnies. Also, my current upright vacuum has hard plastic wheels, and my husband is concerned that they might be scratching the finish of the floors.

So... I see that some canister vacuums seem to have a handle on top. Are you supposed to carry the canister around in one hand while you hold the wand with the other? Or does it have to drag around behind you, tripping you and banging into things and tipping over and such? If it drags behind on the floor, are there any with rubber wheels instead of plastic to minimize scratching?

Any recommendations? (Like some other readers, I've done a lot of research here on best vacuums and am now thoroughly confused and exhausted.)

Comments (4)

• graywings123
    15 years ago

You do either one - pick it up, pull it - depending on the situation. You pull it if you are going in a straight line or short distance. You pick it up when pulling it would cause you to trip on it, bang into things, tip over, or go around corners.

Have you considered a backpack vacuum? I've always wanted one.

Here is a link that might be useful: Backpack vacuum discussions

• chipshot
    15 years ago

How about bringing what you want to clean to the vacuum?

In practice, moving a canister as one cleans really isn't that difficult. I find that each move puts a new area or group of things within reach. Clean them and then move on to the next new area or group.

Maybe you can borrow a canister (a store interested in selling you a vacuum might have one you can try) to see for yourself?

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    15 years ago

Go to WalMart, buy one or more and try them and return anything you don't want.