Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueiris24

Dusting/Cleaning Artificial Tree

blueiris24
15 years ago

I'm relatively new to the world of fake Christmas trees - but this year ours was so dusty when we were hanging ornaments I couldn't stop sneezing. It is very tall and heavy. It does come apart obviously but I would have concerns about getting it wet. Is there some relatively straightforward method of keeping them clean? TIA

Comments (10)

• lobotome
    15 years ago

I would only use my vacuum with a brush attachment to remove the dust. Usually an artificial tree would not be near greasy and grimy things. I'd be leary of wetting the tree down as well. Maybe a good shake outside before storing it away might be good?

True Confession: I've never dusted my tree LOL!

• graywings123
    15 years ago

I would clean it the same way I clean my fake plants. I have a hand-held shower device in our second bathroom and I set the plants in there and spray them down. I leave them in there for a few days, turning them to make sure they are completely dry so that the water doesn't drip onto my floors.

If you wait until summer, you could do it outside with the garden hose, but, honestly, who is going to remember to do that?

• sbcichocki
    15 years ago

I live in the south. A few years ago my tree was horribly dusty. I took it out onto the back deck, sprayed it with hose, simple green, then hose again. Let it dry outside for a few days to make sure it was dry. No harm done, looks great to this day, though it could probably use another shower.
    S

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    15 years ago

We've a Shark "steam cleaner" with a wand that spews out warm fog, steam is a bit of an exaggeration. The fog is about skin temperature at 12-14 inches. I use it to clean real living house plants. Indeed this about the only use I have found for the gadget.

Perhaps one of these could be used for artificial plants too.

• debsan
    15 years ago