Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elaineinnj

Any Polymer clay qustions????

elaineinnj
11 years ago

Hi, I am a polymer clay artist. I see that there were questions that have gone unanswered so if you want any answers just ask and I will do my best to help.

~~Elaine~~

Comments (16)

• bettyn_gardener
    11 years ago

Elaine - your offer could not be better timed!! I have a couple of questions. I am making large beads and using Sculpey Ultralite as a core bead, baking it and then putting on a veneer of Premo. I'm finding it hard to get a good smooth surface on the veneer so I'm spending a lot of time sanding ... Any thoughts on getting a smoother surface??

And I am also experimenting on image transfer using Tshirt transfer paper. I first tried burnishing, baking for 7 minutes, removing the paper and then baking for another 7 minutes. Even with diligent burnishing, I didn't get the entire transfer to stay on the clay when I removed the paper. Next, I tried placing the transfer on the clay, spraying it with alcohol and rubbing the paper off the transfer image. This was more successful, but the surface was rough when it came out of the oven, I baked it for 15 minutes - too long?? I am aiming to make pendants - I insert eye pins, so there has to be some thickness to the clay. I am using Tailor Iron-on Light T-Shirt Transfer for ink jet printers that I got at Joann's. I am wondering if the issue is with the paper or the methods I'm using.

If you have any insights I would be so grateful!!

Betty

• cleocrafta
    11 years ago

Hi Betty, I'm a polymer clay artist & teacher. I suggest you try the transfer method using gin and laser print copies. This process is easy & frugal to do. Donna Kato teaches a free "step by step" tutorial on her site CraftEDU. Good Luck, Cleocrafta

• bettyn_gardener
    11 years ago

cleocrafta - I looked at Donna Kato's free tutorial - she used water. What's the advantage of using gin? Would rubbing alcohol accomplish the same thing? Betty