hello out there

zenpotter
18 years ago

Does anyone ever read this forum?

Comments (6)

• CandyWA
    18 years ago

I do!

I'm so disappointed in the apparent lack of interest. It seems strange because clay is so popular.

• User
    18 years ago

Hello. It is 2am and I could not sleep so checked out this forum. I haven't checked it out in over a year.

One of my hobbies is ceramics and I have a kiln. I never see any posting from someone like me. What type are you interested in? Monica

• missourilark
    18 years ago

Hellooo out there...odd,I've been coming to Garden Web for 2 yrs,and never noticed this forum. There doesn't seem to be a lot of activity here,but I'll sure check back often.As a potter,and master moldmaker,I would love to chat with people of like interests.Glad I found you guys!I'm into functional ware,have tons of nice molds...but haven't poured anything lately.Perhaps we could inspire a bisque exchange,or something like that.This forum has made my day! :) Hope to see some new posts.

• zenpotter
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hey this is great 2 posts this week. I have never poured a mold so I can't join a bisque exchange. I am a handbuilder although I did just make a drape mold for a bowl and 2 slump molds for platters.

I made the drape mold yesterday from clay so I haven't fired it yet. I have made several platters on the slump molds. After getting the form I draw a woman on the platter with a pointed tool, use underglazes to add color and then fire, add clear glaze and fire again. At the moment I am using Duncan underglazes for the brilliant colors.

I mainly do sculptures of women and sea creatures.

Please tell me more about your work.

• CandyWA
    18 years ago

Wow.... I really didn't expect to find anybody here... it's soooo good to see you guys :)

I've never heard of a drape mold. Do you make your own slump molds as well?