Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
party_music50

OT: My Baskets

party_music50
13 years ago

Hello! It's that time of year when I get antsy waiting to hear the results of the NYS Fair judging. :O)

Some of you have said you'd like to see a slideshow of my baskets, so I worked on that last night and this morning...

Basically I fill my days with work, golfing, gardening, tossing darts, arts & crafts... one of which is basket weaving. I took up weaving (self-taught) after I saw a demonstration at the NYS Fair in 1999. In 2006 my youngest niece Julia was lost in a horrible car accident and I spent many months and hours of weaving (to get through it) and sold those baskets to make money for a Scholarship Fund in her name. In addition to traditional baskets, I wove custom requests, and also designed a signature line of baskets for Julia... you'll see some I created for her. Then I became a weaving instructor, and have been entering the Fair myself (very successfully) since 2008.

Anyway, here's a little slideshow of some of the baskets I've made: Baskets

Hope you enjoy!

Comments (20)

• oldalgebra
    13 years ago

Oh my gosh, PM. They're simple beautiful. I'll never look at another basket in the same way again. I guess, even the simplest of baskets is a work of art. But yours, why yours are unbelievable! I have my fingers crossed for your latest entries. Thanks so much for sharing one of the things you do so well.

• luvstocraft
    13 years ago

Party Music, that is so sweet that you made a slideshow for us to be able to see your baskets.

Unfortunately, I use a 64 bit laptop and can't install Flash player on it, so I can't view the slideshow. I'll try to remember to pull this post up on DH's computer so I can see them.

I too enjoy crafts, but your baskets are way beyound "crafting", they are truly works of art and take skill and talent to create. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you to win lots of "blue ribbons" at the fair. ;o)

Luvs

• phonegirl
    13 years ago