Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
total loss advice

Posted by toad_ca (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 25, 06 at 14:34

I was just in my first accident ever (a woman accelerated out of her driveway into traffic, into me). I have a 1998 Camry with only around 30,000 miles on it. The Ins. Co is already thinking "total loss" just because of the age of the car. They'll be looking at it probably by the end of this week. Needless to say I'm upset. What they'll pay me won't replace the car. I have very little experience with used cars, but that's all I'll be able to afford now. Any general or specific advice would be much appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: total loss advice

Depends on the damage and offer given. If it's totaled...and fixable, one option is to take the money, buy back your wrecked car...they'll sell it back to you cheap, then have it repaired with the money left over. Best case is you'll get enough back to cover the cost as long as you're willing to have the work done at somewhere other than the most expensive in town. The downside other than having been wrecked in the first place is the vehicle will have a branded title of some kind. That hurts the resale value, but as the car ages, that impact is less and less. I'd think a 9 year old Toyota has depreciated quite a bit no matter what.

Assuming your car is very nice other than just the low milage, hold out for top book if they low ball you. You don't have to accept any old offer they throw at you. Use your computer to look up book value using various pricing guides for your area. Also print up adds for cars similar to yours for sale. You should be able to find some similar to yours that are priced at top book or higher.