Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Oldsmobile Alero opinions

Posted by Vacuumfreak (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 19, 05 at 14:56

Hello all! The only car I have ever wanted is an Olds Alero. I have always had Toyotas and been impressed with the quality. Right now, as an emergency car I have an 87 Olds Ciera, which I hate. Base model, mechanical problems. I love the looks of the Alero. Personally, I think GM should have stopped the production of Buick instead of Olds, but that's another topic. Just wondering if any of you have and Alero experience/advice. I have heard some pretty bad things as far as mechanical and interior quality issues about them. I am planning to save up the cash and spend about $ 3-5000 on one. I'm a struggling college student with a full time job, so I can't afford to buy something that is going to fall apart the second I purchase it. I know it's like the Grand Am, but looks better. Thanks for any opinions!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Oldsmobile Alero opinions

Since you have not heard from any Alero owners, I'll just say that I do know one person who owns one and he has said that he likes it. His has about 90,000 miles on it, I think I recall him saying, and he has not had any major problems.

I think with any used car you're buying a specific car and its history more than a make and model. If you want an Alero, look for a good one that's obviously been well cared for, have a trustworthy mechanic take a look at it, get a CarFax or other similar report on it, and if everything seems to check out, get it.

o