Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Imported cars vs Local cars

Posted by Jowii (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 6, 05 at 4:26

Im a acolleg student ..i have been given an assignment on the topic above..
as i know imported cars are more demanded but here i am in malaysia ...the local cars are dominating ..
May someone please help me and give opinions about imported cars and locals?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Imported cars vs Local cars

As a fact, the nations who export their very best efforts will do well (Germany,Japan)..

France and England do not seem to have what it takes to export successfully.
Here in the good ole USA a great many of us want either something different or something superior , hence all the Japanese and German cars (I am talking about 30 years ago more than today)...Now Germany is having problems and we have gone global....
France seems to be a lot more nationalistic than we are and protects(or tries to) their own car industry against imports - particularly Orientials...
Why ? A Frenchmen can explain this better than I..
Malaysia ,as a developing country, is a different ball of wax...all automobiles are foreign,I think..
Please explain "local cars"... And I do not know how they feel about the Japanese.... and their products...

o

here in the u.s. we only have 2 american car companys and they really are not american as they sell cars built everywhere in the world. so all in all we dont have any true local or true american companys. so the only true american built car would be some custom job turned out by a private builder. maybe like a saleen s-7 which very few are sold to everyday drivers.

o

US, I like small but some luxury and the you can't find an American car like this. So European cars offer the combination.

o