Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Car accident

Posted by nicmarsh81 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 1, 13 at 22:44

I'm new at this so bare with me.

My husband was involved in an accident today. He was turning left with the green light and the other driver ran a red light and damaged the front end of our van.

The left side is screwed, but we we just inspected and we can't even open the passanger door, which is strange as no damage exist on that side.

I have enclosed photos and hope that someone could tell me what kind od damage they think may have happened. Is the van a loss or fixable? What happens when we want to trade it in with so much damaged fixed?

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Car accident

What state do you live in? do you have insurance? More importantly, does the other guy have insurance?

Was there a police officer at the scene?

Hopefully, your husband got all of the necessary information from the other driver; name, address, license and registration, and name of the insurance carrier.

If you have insurance....notify them and then ask them what the next step should be. They will liklely have an adjuster look at your vehicle and generate an estimate of what it will cost to fix. If the cost to fix is greater than the worth of the vehicle, they might find it to be a "total loss" and give a settlement check fotr the value of the vehicle.

If the other guy truly ran a red light then the accident is his fault. His insurance company should cover all of your expenses to get the vehicle fixed. It depends on your insurance company if they will pay you first and the subrogate with the other company to get the money back. Otherwise, you will have to deal with the other company to get the money to fix your car.

People get into accidents all the time. As long as no one was hurt the rest is just aggravation and nothing to get all worked up about.