SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kalining

Something for you John

kalining
15 years ago

And all you other techs. Everyone chime in. This is a good

one. Sitting here waiting for the old lady to finish the washing so i can go to bed i'd figure i'd fire this out.

Goes back to the good old days. Oh yah. Before i forget

John. Your ocs/orc system on the Town and Country 2005

reprograming. Remember i'm a dealer tech. I see the cars 1

year before you know there are out. We are doing the 09's

now. The only time you will see the new ones is when they

are off warranty. Anyway, We had a Buick Grand National. The complaint was a vibration after 70 M.P.H. We told him

don't do 70 M.P.H. All tires were balanced. Not fixed. All

tires were replaced. Not fixed. rotors and drums replaced.

Not fixed. Drive shaft rebalanced. not fixed. Drive shaft

replaced. Not fixed. Bolt replacement recall done. We

actually replaced the engine and transmission. Not fixed.

So what do you think ? We did fix it. It has factory Mag

wheels no wheel disks and all wheel nuts are the same.

Comments (23)

• jemdandy
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My guesses: A wheel or tire changed shape at apeed and went out of balance. A tire could have been ruined by over-inflation during mounting.

The cone shaped mounting holes in the mag wheels were oversize and the wheel was not truly tight,although the nuts had been driven home.

If the wheel nuts were of the acorn type, the nuts could have bottomed out before the wheel was tight.

Wheel bearings were loose.

Loose tie rod ends or other loose joints in the front end. (You didn't say which end of the vehicle was shaking. Maybe it was a backend problem.)

Steering damper missing or sacked out.

The power steering unit had too much feedback gain and began to oscillate above 70 mph.