Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Research

Posted by Jowii (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 14, 05 at 6:19

I am a college student.
Actually i am given an assigment to write about imported vehicles vs local vehicles.
I would like to ask opinions about imported car.
In my country Indonesia,usually we got many japanese car dealers so that the car is kinda cheap.
take example New HONDA CRV 2005 it costs around 88000 RM and if convert to USD is around 22500 us but in malaysia it costs around 138000 Rm and in USd is around 34XXX. Usd
I really wanna know what makes this happen. As i know for Malaysian it is imported car but in Indonesia they already set up the dealer there for Honda but still they don't have the assembling manufacture there.
on the other hand i also want to know what makes Import car attractive compared to local cars.
Thank you

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Research

My biggest draw to foreign cars started years ago because American made cars are always "Bigger is better". I like bells/whistles and luxury items in a car but really prefer to drive smaller vehicles. Honda/Toyota used to be like this. VW, Beamers, Volvos, Audi's still are. Hummer knew to make "a smaller one".

o

Here in the USA, there always seems to be a surplus of used cars. Our auto market is saturated, and very likely has been saturated since 1950 or so. Certain make and models of used cars are less desirable, and can be purchased for less than they are worth, when you consider how much life they have left. For used sedans and station wagons, it is a buyers market here. Used sports cars and convertibles will usually get a better price. If the price of gasoline stays above $3.00 per gallon, I suspect that used SUV's will sell for less than they are worth.