Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
sticking front disc brakes

Posted by plaidthumb (My Page) on
Sat, Sep 13, 08 at 0:20

93 Dakota. RWABS 3.9 liter auto.
Had to slam on my brakes today to not t-bone a celphone idiot who pulled out in front of me. Now the truck pulls hard to the right when I apply the brakes, and there is a smell of something getting hot. Right front wheel quite a bit hotter than left after driving in town a short distance. I'm figuring the calipers are sticking, not pulling the pads away from the rotor...I'm not a mechanic, but given time can usually deduce the problem. I've done disc/drum brake jobs before, so not concerned about capability to fix it. I'm just hoping for thoughts from others who have dealt with this before I start digging into things.

Thanks for any advice/thoughts you may offer.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: sticking front disc brakes

The caliper may be jammed on the pins, or the piston jammed in its bore.. For everything to work right, both the caliper and piston must slide freely. Since this was an emergency application of the brakes, there's no telling how much pressure was applied. The piston may be jammed in the bore and not releasing.

Corrosion on the pins can cause a sticking caliper.

The piston does not have a return spring. It moves back solely by what little return is provided by the elastomer boot and the brake pad can rub gently on the rotor. Another source is a restriction in the brake line that is holding up pressure, for example, a porportioning valve jammed closed.

Its time to take the brake apart and inspect. If you do take it apart, may as well replace the pads unless the pads are relatively new. However, overheated pads can be dangerous because these are prone to loosing chunks of friction material.

o

Hi Jem.