Return to the Cars Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which would *you* choose?

Posted by mjmercer (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 16, 06 at 8:23

I currently have a 2001 Chevy Metro sedan which I love. But I know it won't last forever -- little glitches have already started to show up.

I've been researching cars in my price range and preference. Dependability is a huge priority because I'm a realtor and need my car to do my job. Something Japanese with low mileage and under $7,000 are also preferable ($8,000 if I absolutely can't find anything less expensive). I'd prefer manual transmission but it's not a deal breaker. Any Subaru in my price range would be ideal. Anyone here a fan of the PT Cruiser? No Hyundais or Kias, please.

Cavaliers, Aveos, Neons, Focuses (Foci? lol), Sentras and various models of Saturn consistently turn up in my search on Cars.com. I'm concerned that this is a negative comment on the quality of those models.

Are there any brave souls here who would recomend something given my budget and preferences?

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which would *you* choose?

You may wish to consider a 2 to 4 yr old Saturn Wagon. My wife bought a '97 new with automatic and medium level of equipment. Cost ran about $17,000. She has over 80,000 miles on it with no major repair. Over the usual maintence items of brakes, tires, and exhaust system, we've replaced the water temp sensor and a downstream oxygen sensor that failed early.

For the latest repair, I replaced the gasket set for the valve cover. It began leaking around one spark plug hole. What I discovered was that the valve cover was a reinforced plastic molding and had shrank. It tightned up the oil cap hole and caused difficulty in removing the oil cap. Both problems were fixed by me. This shrinking valve cover is the only major problem that it has had in over 80,000 miles.