SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
timlynn

truck locked up tight

timlynn
14 years ago

350 in 96 1500 locked up tight. Just driving down the road and it stopped. I tried turning it over and it moved the pulleys maybe a 1/4 inch and just stopped. I replaced starter cause thought it was bad. Makes the clang as it engages the teeth on the flywheel and nothing. I tried to turn the crank shaft with socket and it is froze tight.

I never had a chevy engine do this. I have spun lots of bearings in them and thru rods thru the oil pan but never locked one up from normal driving before. There was no sign of troubles from this engine at all. Now I am thinking I might of dropped a valve. But I have never done that before on my older chevys. After I pull the covers and check, Has anyone else had this problem and what else should I check for after that? Pull the oil pan and start loosening the rod and mains one at a time till it turns would be my only other try after the valve check.

Comments (30)

• kalining
    14 years ago

If you can turn your crank back and forth about 1/4 inch either way usually means the crank is free but the pistons are seized in the block. The engine will definately have to be taken apart. Engines are funny people. One day they love you and the next day they leave you.

• earl53
    14 years ago

HOLD UP!! Don't get too anzy and start taking everything apart. Using a large socket and torque wrench try rotating the engine the opposite direction!! This can un lock the probable cause which could be a timing chain that broke in at obe of the pinned connectors causing the chain to wrap around and JAM the engine. Start out by removing the timing chain cover instead. This is why i am telling you to turn the engine in the opposite direction, because this would reverse the condition that caused the lockup.