SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jemdandy

Brake Drum out of Balance

jemdandy
13 years ago

I've been driving since 1948 and this is the first time that I've ran into this problem. I had a high speed vibration that would begin above 60 mph and then get progressively worse quickly with more speed. The vehicle is a '98 Jeep Cherokee Limited, 6 cy, 4 sp automatic with 4 wheel drive. The 4 speed has both part time and full time modes.

This vibration problem began after work was done in two shops:

1. Tire leak fixed at Firestone and tires rotated.

Followed by:

2. At Car-X: Front wheel U-joint replaced with new design CV joints, rear drive shaft U-joint at the differential replaced, and rear brake shoes installed.

A couple of days later was the first time that I had the occasion to get up to expressway speed and then the problem was sensed.

I noticed that Firestone after the tire patch, had moved the red dot balance mark on the tire. Firestone corrected this and rebalanced. This helped a tiny amount, but the problem persisted. Rebalancing all the tires with wheels helped a bit, but did not solve the problem.

The tire rotation moved the fronts to the back and to opposite sides. This reversed the rotation of these tires. Since I had bought the vehicle (3 yrs ago) at 70,000 miles and it now has 85,000 miles, I had no idea of past maintence except I knew that the tires had been changed at least once because the ones on the vehicle were not factory issue and had too much tread to have been on the road for 70,000 miles. It was possible that the tires had never been rotated until I did it. I switched the left and right rear tires to switch the rotation direction ot see if that made a difference. It helped a little, but as I ran the vechicle the next week, the problem persisted. It was smooth up to 50 or 60 mph and then the vibration would set in.