Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Gift ideas for elders

Posted by sippimom (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 15, 07 at 23:34

Does anyone out there have any gift ideas for seniors (in their 80's)??? I am totally stumped. I've asked them what they would like or need and all they say is that they don't need anything. That they have everything they need. Same response from my SIL who see's them weekly. (She is also stumped)

Any suggestions? They are in fairly good health but don't get out much especially in the winter/snow. TIA! :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Gift ideas for elders

Postage stamps, gift certificate to their grocery store, handmade gift cert promising you'll 'do' something for them. I'm nowhere near their ages but I've been telling my kids that I don't need anything for several years. I'm downsizing, decluttering, and I don't want/need 'things'. There are 2 things I've told them they can get me if they absolutely must give me a gift. One is live flowers and the other is food, which could mean being taken to a restaurant, gift cert to one or my grocery, or homemade goodies.

Good luck,
Shirley

o

I agree. The last thing I want is more 'somethings' to have to deal with.
A Gift certificate to a department store would be nice if you can get one with several months to go before the expiration date.

Do they like wine? or some other alcohol? My husband would enjoy a case of his favorite beer. A big fruit basket. Nuts, like pecans and cashews.

check out the specialty aisles in the supermarket for salad dressing, sauces, etc. that they may not want to spend money on, but would like to try. If they like cheese....perhaps a basket of different varities would work.
Good Luck! I am sure you can come up with something very satisfying.

o

I agree with the other posters. More "stuff" is not needed. Even more clothes aren't helpful unless there is a real need.