Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Will these people EVER straighten up?

Posted by worksalot (My Page) on
Tue, Oct 16, 07 at 20:15

I am the caregiver for my 82 yo mother who lives 110 miles from me. I have been doing this for about 10 years. She has parkinsons, spinosis, depression, frequent bladder infections, walks with a walker and has a few other more minor ailments. She receives meals on wheels and has 2 to 3 hours of home health care every weekday. She is mentally sharp. She stays with me about 1 week every month. Sometimes because she is not feeling well and wants me to take her to doctors and sometimes just because she needs a change of scenery and or is feeling lonely. (My Dad passed a couple of years ago.) I took both of them to the dr and helped them in other ways before Dad died. I don't mind doing all this, but at times it is a struggle because I live over 2 hours drive from her and I have a full time job, husband that I adore, and adult children and grandchildren that I also love to visit. I also live on a farm (add in more work, etc, etc.) If you want to get something done ask a busy person to do it!! Now for the problem. I have a brother that lives about an hour from my mother and a sister that lives across country. They do nothing for her and I don't really ask them to and neither does mom. Through the years we made a few attempts to get my brother to help (sister always to far away) but he always had an excuse. He has to make a living. Hey, I have a job too! My brother visits her about 3 times a year for a few hours. (Although he drives right past her place a few times a month.) I haven't seen him in 2 years. My sister comes back about every 2 years for a couple of days each time. I do not understand why my brother and sister hardly speak to me. They almost seem jealous, but it really hurts the way they treat me. My sister seems to not really care for me to visit her at mom's but she does want my brother to visit and he does. B