Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How do I go about this?

Posted by edwinna (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 27, 05 at 2:12

Hi everyone,

Not sure if any of you will remember or not, but I posted a while back about a co-worker suffering from liver disease.

She's at the end stage now and all she wants is a bath and to have her hair washed. Her family hasn't been very supportive.
Home health is due to start but in the meantime she really wants to be clean.

I'd like to do this for her. I've never done this for anyone before. So, I guess what I'm asking is what do I do? Sponge bath? Try to get her in the tub? Wash her hair in bed? She's very frail and I don't want her to fall if we try to get her in the tub. Also, should I wear gloves? Are there bath products that would be easy on her paper thin skin?

Heck, I'm just a co-worker and friend. I don't want to embarrass her either.

Sorry to be so awkward with this post; it's an awkward situation. Any suggestions on how to go about this would be most appreciated.

Thank you!

edwinna

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How do I go about this?

Some nice lavender or if she has a fav scent shower/bath gel. Preheat the bathroom & have a robe & towels nice & roasty toasty warm too. For modesty sake have her keep on a pair of panties. A telephone shower will work for hair washing & shower/bath, a shower chair makes all of this easier on you & her cause she might tire quickly.

Sense of humour will help too.. You're a special angel to want to do this for her & she will greatly appreciate this.

BTW it's not awakward post at all..

o

Ask around in your group of friends. There may be someone that has worked as a nurse or aid who could help you out for a hour or so. Getting her in and out of the tub could be a problem, but it may be the best and easiest way of washing her hair and making her feel really clean. Since she is so fragile and frail, both of you would be a lot safer if you had someone to help.

o