SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
carrie630

Another question about depleting assets

carrie630
13 years ago

Keep in mind - I am very new to this and all the information concerning nursing homes, assets, medicaid, etc. etc.

My question is simple: A made up scenario: Mother is 80 and will end up in nursing home at age 83. In order to qualify for medicaid, she has to have no money/assets - right? Okay, but she's given her three children checks in the last couple of years since age 80... My understanding from this forum and reading elsewhere, is that they can ask the children for those "assets" back (?) because she went into a home within three years of giving the money(?)

What about Christmas - are parents not allowed to give money (in checks - not cash) as gifts?

I am a bit confused about that "going back five years for any assets"

Pardon my ignorance, I am learning as I go along

Carrie

Comments (58)

• carrie630
    Original Author
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

thanks, all

shambo: why did you use the amount $500.00 every month she can withdraw as cash - is their a limit? She recently withdrew $2,000.00 and went shopping - does that signal something?

BTW - she is not in bad health and is not near applying for Medicaid, but does withdraw cash from her personal savings (not her joint with husband) to buy whatever she wants - this money is being spent for herself - money that came as a surprise from a relative.

Thanks (sorry for all the questions)

• sushipup1
    13 years ago

Just that the $500 is probably an amount that won't draw attention in a look-back examination by Medicaid. IOW, if she gives it to children (gift, not allowed) or spends it on the household (allowable), it would probably be too small to draw attention.