Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
MIL with mental illness lives with us

Posted by julie_va (My Page) on
Sat, Aug 6, 11 at 13:32

I have many questions that, if I have time, I would like to come back later and ask about, but have one pressing question that hubby and I have right now.

Ma lives with us but has been visiting her daughter for an extended stay for the past 4.5 months. She is 85 and has diagnosis of paranoia and schzophrania along with manic depression. She usually does well under her meds, but occassionally life gets too much for her and her chemicals go haywire and she has a breakdown. It takes about 4 months to come to a head, and it's horrible on us because she hears voices and the paranoia takes over. I am fairly new to the family and we live away from the 2 sisters, so I didn't know what to look for when she had the 3 breakdowns while living with us. They each had different symptoms also and I didn't know enough to recognize them and my husband is just clueless.

My sis in law has been calling me recently with some "complaints" (I hate to use that word, she really isn't complaining, just telling me things ma is doing) and I suddenly put it together that these are behaviors that she did early on the last time she had a breakdown. One of them is being a dead weight and not having function of her legs. She has fallen 2 times in past 2 weeks. She also loses bladder control. This, among other things sis is telling me is making me wonder. Now it could just be that she has a lot on her mind, or it could be that maybe she is having mini strokes or something. Last night after the 2nd fall the ER said she was just dehydrated, gave her fluids and sent her home.

She will be back here with us on Tuesday, hopefully, and I will be able to get her to her psychiatrist for an evaluation.