SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
goldenbuckeye

S-o-o glad I found this site

goldenbuckeye
18 years ago

I really need this so here goes to all you good people who understand.

I've been caring for my Mom for 2 1/2 years and I'm so thankful that I can but as you all know it can be real trying sometimes.

Maybe it wouldn't be so bad if she wasn't retarded. She's lived all her life in the backwoods of Alabama and people ignored her retardation. She tells me she's my Mom and she's suppose to tell me what do do. She doesn't even know the difference between a commercial and the TV program but she wants to watch certain programs. The worst part is she's controling and manipulative. She had a toe taken off over 25 years ago due to diabetese and took to a walker and a chair and stayed that way all these years. She sat in that chair and gave Daddy orders and has tried to do that with me but it doesn't work. I tell her to get her own water ect. because she needs the exercise and she really does.

She was taking 45 units of insulin a day, was severly constipated all the time and was suppose to take 6 water pills a day which she didn't when she came to stay with us. What with eating right and getting some exercise by waiting on herself in a month she was having normal bowel movements and after about 2 months she hasn't had to take anything for her sugar since. She's lost 50 to 55 pounds since she's been here but has more variety and better food than she ever thought of having. At home her legs were severly swollen and almost black. Now she's down to one water pill a day and her legs have their normal coloring again and very little swelling.