Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ways to make Ensure more palatable?

Posted by newbieroselover (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 24, 06 at 7:41

Hi everyone,
Well, my 88-yr-old father is now installed in our home and the transition was pretty smooth. But he's a very sick man, and has almost completely lost his appetite. I'm a good cook, and he'll pick at solid food, but the dr. says we've got to get more calories into him somehow--and he needs more protein. I got some Ensure and mixed it with ice cream, but he says it's too sweet (often complains of things being too sweet).

Does anyone have any tips about how to make Ensure more appealing? (I tasted a spoonful and it's pretty ghastly).
Thanks for your help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ways to make Ensure more palatable?

I like the Vanilla with about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of almond extract in it. That seems to cut the sweetness. Also, it needs to be cold. I have also used rum extract. I don't like it as well as the almond, but it's better than plain. He might like the rum flavor better.

Maybe he just finds it too thick for easy swallowing???? Maybe thin it down a little with some milk before adding the flavoring.

o

I'm someone else who hates things too sweet, so I can sympathize! Mother liked Ensure, but hated the chocolate flavor. She tried them all, and liked the Butter Pecan best. So do try all the flavors.

And if you are just worried about calories, and not nutitional value (and I wouldn't worry about that), start taste-testing ice cream, try fruit smoothies, things made with whole yogurt (not the flavored kind) that can be tangier.

Find out what he really does like.

I wouldn't like Ensure either, but you'll need to be creative. Flavored, processed foods can be so sweet as to make my teeth itch. Better to try blender combinations of your own, where you can control the sugar added. And real sugar isn't as sweet as the high fructose corn syrup used in everything these days.