Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Any one know?

Posted by goinnuts (My Page) on
Wed, May 4, 05 at 22:53

I've heard that family caregivers can recieve compensation for their time and efforts. Does any one know how this works and where I would go to get the forms needed. I have been doing this for free for 6 years. I've had it w/ other family members not helping and not being able to go any where or do things as a family. They simply don't get the fact that you can't leave an alzhiemers patient alone for ANY amount of time. Help. thank you

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Any one know?

Dear Goinnuts:
I would start with an elderlaw attorney. He/She can advise you...this is their field of expertise.
As far as being sick of family members not helping, it seems as if it's just about the same in "most" families...one person takes on the role of caregiver and the rest go on their merry way. My mom, who is 83, lives with me and my DH; she has Alzheimer's. I have two sisters that pick up my mom for about 6 hours on Sunday, each taking turns, so they are each with her about 12 hours a MONTH. For a while, I was bitter and angry and depressed, but I've come to terms with it and realize that although I am baring the brunt of the work, I am also blessed with having this precious time with my mom. Before we know it, she won't recognize anyone, so I am trying to enjoy each day with her. Good luck to you....be well, Mimi

o

I have 2 thoughts.... If the person has long-term care insurance, some policies will pay for "informal" home care by a family member. Here, I see ads from the Senior Connections (Senior Services in this area) stating they have scholarships for such, or for respite. One needs to apply...so that might be a place to check. As far as I know, In VA where I live, Medicare and Medicaid do not pay for this type of care.
Wonder if the non-helping FMs could chip in a bit for a sitter to give you a break each week??? Derry

o