SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mimi427

I'm new to caregiving...looking for some help

mimi427
18 years ago

My mom was diagnosed two year's ago with Alzheimer's - moderate stage. She moved in with me in November, 2004. My mom was always a very independent, vibrant woman and now all she wants to do is sit in her chair and watch TV. I can't get her interested in anything. She crocheted all her life and will not even look at it. I work full time (home office) and have a caregiver here during the day, but my mom refuses to accept any personal care help from her; she only wants me. I am frustrated, depressed and feeling very sorry for her. I have two sisters that are basically useless. I know I need help...do any of you go to support groups, or do you find this site enough help?

Comments (21)

• jeanninetx
    18 years ago

Well I have no support groups in my little town. I use this forum for venting, and questions. I dealt with a dad with Dementia from TIA strokes, not quite the same, but I know a lot of the folks here deal with Alzheimers and can give you lots of advice.
    I know I had to put my dad in a nursing home, he could not be left alone, and I care for a disabled son, so could not move dad into my house.
    Just keep coming, we will be here to help.

• derryw
    18 years ago