Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
This is wearing me out....

Posted by Patti541 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 13, 05 at 14:00

I am not very good at this, but I have gotten some good advice from this forum. I was a partial caregiver to my Mother (did her shopping, Dr. appts., bills, etc. for 16 yrs. until she passed away 6 years ago.) About 3 years ago my uncle had a stroke and was unable to return to his home. He also has Alzheimer's. My sister took care of him for 27 months until she reached her limit, and I took him into my home. He has been here for 8 months. It is difficult to get him to do anything...bathe, take his medicine, he is a very picky eater, wants three meals a day (but only what he wants to eat.) At this moment his breakfast is sitting on the table because he doesn't feel like eating it now. I alternately get mad at him and feel sorry for him. It's a difficult situation...I don't usually get on forums, but I know you are all going through trying situations and it does help to vent.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: This is wearing me out....

How much time are you able to get away? Sounds like you need a bit more time. Are there any day care situations that would suit his needs in your area? I had been caregiving both my parents- dad has symptoms like ALz but luckily for us he is extremely cooperative(except for getting up during night to get dressed & wanting to eat several times a day since he doesn't remember that he already just finished eating)That included Thanksgiving feast! Your feelings are all valid ones & if you can get any assistance for some time away, a respite weekend- take it.Little breaks can be just the salve needed to face the next challenge.If anyone suggests they can help out for an hr., take them up on it immediately.My whole worrywort attitude changed once I was able to get more help in place on a regular basis. I felt like a hamster on a wheel. So be good to yourself & take it 1 day at a time.

o