Return to the Care Givers Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to this site

Posted by drivetdar (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 20, 06 at 8:40

Hello everyone:I wish to thank you for this site. I have been a caregivet to my mom for the past eight years, she lives with me and is completely blind(4 Years) and has dementia,Parkinsons. After reading the last 30 something post I just have a sense of relief, had a couple of chuckles with the stories and some tears with the realities. I am a social worker by profession and a daughter to my 80 yr old mom. Again thanks for the valuable insight and sharing. Its nice to share where we all are at as we climb the journey with our elderly parents
Deb

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to this site

Hello Deb, Glad that you have found this site. What a blessing it is and all the many who post. I don't get on much....my Dear Sweet Mom went to be with the Lord in June. Oh how I miss her. You said "journey"...I also saw our 9 years together as a journey....Mom had alz. As I look back...I thank God for that journey together. This site and all my dear friends here....helped me so much. It is not easy...to have somewhere to come and share is so important. The compassion,love and understanding will see you thur. God Bless, Nora

o

Hi Deb and welcome!!!! although i care for my hubby and he does not have the same illness as your dear mom, we are all here to do the same thing help each other and to make friendships! i have went through alot in the past few years and i will tell you that all my friends here have helped me out more than my friends that i have had for over 25 years! i have also learnt alot about caring for my hubby and how to just take time for myself. you can see that we don't just talk about problems here, we also talk about good things which are probably sometimes more important. we are all here to help and listen to one another! again welcome! debbie

o