Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etr2002

Cheaper to build 1 or 2 story home?

etr2002
13 years ago

I'm a complete newbie who is anticipating building within 2-3 years. We are blessed with 100 acres of land, so space is not limited. We are looking at plans and have casually spoken with a builder regarding one plan in particular (Amicalola Cottage) but we haven't decided on anything for sure. I read on here today a passing comment that it is generally cheaper to build up (meaning a 2 or 3 story home) as opposed to out (meaning one level). We will probably build a home in the neighborhood of around 3500 sq. feet. Any ideas on this concept? Your thoughts will help as we peruse plans!

Comments (27)

• cefoster
    13 years ago

Hi there. How exciting that you will be building. If you do a search there are several posts about the costs of one story vs two story that you will find very helpful. But for starters - one story usually cost more as the foundation and roof as some major bucks. Building up can be cheaper....but do a search and those posts will hopefully give you some good info. Take care!!

• etr2002
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you, Colleen. I'll definitely try the search but for some reason it's not wanting to work too well - of course if could be the operator (me).

• brickton
    13 years ago

Try using the search at the bottom of the page, not the one with the green background and go > button at the top. The site uses different code for some awful reason.

Using the bottom search, I found this thread.
    1 story vs 2 story costs

The short of it is as previously mentioned due to the expense of roof and foundation, going up is usually cheaper.

• bh401
    13 years ago

Yes, up instead of out is cheaper because of foundation and roofing. But using a trussed roof vs. hipped roof will save some bucks regardless. But you might not want to let cost be the deciding factor.
    Do you have small children?