Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loribug26

New here...question about plan drawings

I've lurked long enough... :)
I would like to know what graphic plan designer some of you use. Simple.
Plan 3D is one that I have on my home computer, but I'm not very good at it.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (19)

• virgilcarter
    11 years ago

Loribug, there are a variety of CAD programs available. The Home Designer line from Chief Architect offers a lot of options for those seriously wanting to pursue a CAD program.

That said, I have to say that it's much more productive for a new home owner to put together a written list of criteria in two categories: 1) essential needs; 2) desirable wants and use these with an experienced architect who has a successful background with homes such as you may envision and desire.

There's at least one current thread on this topic on the forum at the moment.

From personal experience I can tell you that prospective home owners who walk into an architect's office with a developed floor plan, more often than not, waste their time/money and the architct's time, since there are so many other important influences and inputs for the successful design of a house that the owner has not considered in their CAD plan. The issue often is that owners simply don't know what they don't know.

But CAD programs are a lot of fun for those of us who are geeky and enjoy playing with them.

If you are serious about designing and building a new house, however, there's lots more productive (and less expensive) ways to spend you time.

Good luck on your project.

• mydreamhome
    11 years ago

SmartDraw VP is the one I use. 7 day free trial so you can play with it before you commit to buy. I found it to be very easy to learn and use without reading the manual. Very pleased with the results and it has definitely paid for itself many times over before, during & after our build.

Hope this helps!

Here is a link that might be useful: Smart Draw VP Website

• renovator8