Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
please help recommend water system for new home

Posted by mrs.sergeant (My Page) on
Wed, Nov 28, 12 at 18:01

Hi! I am a newbie to posting but I have been lurking on this site for a year while we were building our house. It has been such a valuable resource and I'm so happy I found it!
I was really hoping I could get some non biased expert advice on some problems we are having with our water. I would be so appreciative for some input. We live on 1.5 acres brand new house on a well. The well is 140 ft deep and has problems with Iron at 2ppm, Hardness at 7gpg, PH is 6.5, and mild sulphur smell at .5. The TDS is 160 and we do have a slight bacteria with orange brown sludge in our toilet tanks and brownish orange water collecting in toilet bowls, dog bowl, bath water etc. The flow rate is 16 We have pex piping and wrisbow fittings so we are not worried about damage to those.
Please tell me your opinion on these systems or a suggestion on a better one, I have two estimates Ive narrowed down
Kinetico 2060 Ssoft, pgh line fitter and post carbon filter- $3135
Watercare 10x54 total water care conditioner with min plus pre filtration and post filtration $3600 plus need an outlet

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: please help recommend water system for new home

It seems you have had your water tested by a reputable source, right? And have they given you recommendations for effective treatment?

I assume your two suggestions respond to and support the recommended remediation?

Good luck with your project.

o

I was going to suggest you take this over to the plumbing forum, but I see you have already done so.

o