Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threeapples

Unsanded hardwood--is this the way it normally is?

threeapples
11 years ago

these are 5" planks of rift and quarter-sawn red oak. They will be sanded and stained soon, but I wanted to post here to see if this bowing within some of the planks is normal. I'm new to hardwood flooring. thanks.

Comments (53)

• athensmomof3
    11 years ago

I personally wouldn't trust sanding to fix cupping but I don't know much about it. It sounds like they were installed way too early. The house should be closed in and heated/cooled for a while before the wood is laid down, and ideally should be heated for a while, the wood brought in and let to sit for a while and then laid.

It sounds like the floors were installed before the HVAC was running? I have never heard of that - or maybe I misunderstood. . . If that is the case, that explains the cupping. Not sure if it will "right" itself now that it is laid but I certainly wouldn't have it finished as is.

• nini804
    11 years ago

Yes, they are cupping. We have 5" white oak that was installed during the summer. There was an area that was cupping. We have a sealed and conditioned crawl space, along with a whole house humidifier. The builder upper the AC and lowered the humidity setting and they calmed down. We are located in a very humid area (during the summer) so I think this happens a lot. If they turn the heat on they should dry out. Just make sure they are good and flat before they are sanded and stained. I imagine you aren't close to that stage yet, so just keep an eye on them.

• threeapples
    Original Author
    11 years ago

actually they want to sand and stain them early next week so the painter can come in (he doesn't want to paint the walls and have them all dusted with sawdust).