Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babypea102

1st floor plan - thoughts?

babypea102
11 years ago

Hi, I am new to gardenweb and so happy I learned about this resource to use as a guide as we begin building.

I need your help to review our plan. I've attached our first floor. I'm concerned that I am not reviewing all the parts of this plan. Is there a checklist that I can work through as I review a plan? What are adequate room sizes?

Where would be the optimal spot for the refrigerator and is the kitchen to long? Is the island small? I'm worried that the round table to the outside door will be cramped.

Please help and thoughts. Thank you and I look forward to roaming this forums with you.

Comments (20)

• gaonmymind
    11 years ago

Can you tell us more about your needs/ family/ lifestyle? It's hard to determine size adequacy. Also can you post both floors and make it bigger so the dimensions can be read?

I like it overall, but would like to give more detailed feedback with that info.

• kirkhall
    11 years ago

It really isn't bad.
    Here are a few comments:
    I like that you moved your fridge to next to the pantry. That a more functional spot for it than out near the mudroom entry (there you'd be always having to go around the island to get to it...at least next to the pantry, it is on the right side (prepping side) of the island, while still being plenty accessible to your dining room/house.

Right now, when you enter your house through the front door, you see the wall end of the FR. That seems like an odd "focal point". It really isn't wide enough to be a focal wall and have a true focal object. you know?

The dining room seems long and narrow, but it is hard to tell exactly.